Style+Care™ Strength & Shine Flexible Hold Hairspray

Style+Care™ Strength & Shine Flexible Hold Hairspray

Product Recommender

Recommended Product

Get more product suggestions
from Dove.

Go

Product Description:

Better style comes through better care. That’s why Dove® has reinvented its styling collection to nourish and protect hair for a long-lasting, beautiful style. 

Dove® Style+Care™ Strength & Shine Flexible Hold Hairspray with Nutri-Style Complex has a fast-drying, water-free formula that helps to strengthen and set style with a flexible hold, while enhancing hair’s natural luminosity. Enjoy style without all the stiffness for frizz-proof, natural movement all day long.

Shop:

or

Top Comments and Reviews:

Make Chic Short & Sassy Bends

Articles & Tips:

Ingredients:

SD Alcohol 40-B (Alcohol Denat.), Hydroflfluorocarbon 152a,Acrylates/Hydroxyesters Acrylates Copolymer, Fragrance (Parfum), Aminomethyl Propanol, PEG/PPG-20/15 Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane.

Top Comments and Reviews:

Style+Care™ Strength & Shine Flexible Hold Hairspray 1.4 5 180 180
aerosol can did not work properly I was hardly able to use 90% of the product before I gave up and threw the can away! It kept clogging and was not able to get the product to my hair!! Very frustrating!!! GRRRRR!!!! October 31, 2013
New Pink Dove Hair Spray is HORRIBLE! I tried this new "reinvented" version, I can honestly say IT IS HORRIBLE!. I have been a loyal buyer using the blue Dove Hairspray for years & LOVED it! It smelled great & I could actually run my fingers through my hair. This new one leaves my hair stiff, with flakey residue & smells awful. It literally makes my hair feel super dry & damaged! PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD BLUE VERSION! May 19, 2012
Terrible - bring back the old formula please Dove Flexible Hold hairspray used to be my favorite, but the new formula/scent is terrible. Overbearing, unpleasantly fruity scent, and incredibly sticky. Bring back the old formula and scent, please! I will not be purchasing Dove hairspray again, and I am one who used to buy four and five canisters at a time of the old formula. A disappointment, and I am now looking for a new brand. May 7, 2012
Disappointed in the new formula. I loved the flexibility and hold of the original Dove Extra Hold Hairspray and now my stores only care this new forumula, which is terrible. It leaves my hair stif and is hard to get a brush or comb through it. Why do companies have to try and improve on a good thing when the product they already have is great. I will not be buying the new Dove Style + Care ever again. April 13, 2012
Poor replacement of Flexible Hold hairspray I have been using DOVE FLEXIBLE HOLD hairspray for years. Your new product replacement is awful! The odor is terrible! I used it once and I could smell that odor all day long. I returned this product and now I'm forced to find another. I don't recall if it held my hair well or not, all I could focus on is that horrible odor. Why can't you just leave it unscented? April 8, 2012
You guys ruined this product. YUCK! Is this hairspray or deodorant?! This was my favorite hairspray, the amount of hold and bounce it delivered to my hard to curl hair was amazing. And I fell in love with the scent! My hair smelled and looked beautiful. I just bought another can, and oh my goodness I am horrified. Not only does it Not do a Single thing to my hair! (it's like spraying nothing but air on your hair from a can for no reason# But the SMELL! It smells like your Canned Spray Deodorant! The Powdered version! This is Horrible. Women want to smell beautiful, not like a ball of powder. Please hurry up and change it back to the way it was! THANX! >:# September 20, 2013
Bring the old one back!!!!!!!! The new product is terrible. From the shape of the bottle to what's inside. I had 3 other women hooked on the old spray, and we're all disappointed in the new one. I'm going to swich brands and hope you come to your senses and bring the old formula back. June 2, 2012
Whyy did you change a good thing?! I was very loyal to the old Dove Flexible Hold Hairspray in the blue bottle--absolutely loved the smell and bought bottle after bottle. I couldn't find the blue bottle last time I went to the store so I grabbed this one without thinking much of it. After spraying it on my hair, I was horrified. The new smell is absolutely horrendous. It smells like cheap perfume and baby wipes. It's nauseating. I came on the website, and couldn't find the old blue bottle anywhere. Dove, if you're going to make a new line of products, that's all well and good, but please don't get rid of the well-loved originals. I haven't been able to find any of your hair products with the old scent I loved so much. I will most definitely NOT be repurchasing this hairspray and really hope you'll bring the old one back. September 20, 2012
Ugh! Dove, what were you thinking? You discontinued a fabulous product and replaced it with one that smells bad, doesn't hold or just makes hair sticky, and the aerosol spray functions badly -- it leaks regularly, sprays at half power and then clogs. Like others, I purchased a couple of of the new "pink" bottles, thinking you had just changed the packaging. Ugh! What a disappointment. Until you bring back the previous version (blue can, extra hold, flexible, unscented), I am spending money buying and trying other brands for an acceptable alternative. Why did you mess with success? September 23, 2012
New product just not as good! I am very disappointed that you changed the formula. I loved the old formula and used it exclusively for several years. This one is sticky and makes the hair frizzy. Why did you change a product that was selling and was popular? Now I have to purchase other brands to try and find one that is like the old Dove flexible hold that I loved. I am very disappointed. A;lso, because you put both types in the same color can, I mistakenly bought a can of the extra hold and immediately gave it to my granddaughter. Very unhappy former customer. Please bring the old flexible hold back and give the consumers a choice. June 6, 2012
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY loved original extra strength hair spray. tried the new extra strength its like glue. then tried flex hold still same fhing HORRIBLE. GO BACK TO ORIGINAL PRODUCT. sorry switched to another brand April 8, 2012
Worst Smell Ever The old hairspray (blue and silver can) was AMAZING! Did a fantastic job and smelled so unbelievably good, it was the only hairspray I would use. But this new formula? Beyond gross. I bought it on Saturday at noon and returned it to the store at 1:30 pm. The smell was so disgusting just thinking about it now makes me feel queasy. I used it right before lunch with friend and spent the whole hour and a half wondering what the awful smell was. I quickly realized it was my hair! It was humiliating and I couldn't wait to get home to rinse this junk out. All of the shampoos and body washes smell and work great, but these new Style + Care products are a complete failure. Please please please bring back the old formula!! I have just run out of my last can, and had I known this new, gross hairspray was going to take over, I would have stocked up. Listen to your customers!! We want the old stuff! January 15, 2013
Please bring back the old formula!!!! Dove, I have been using the flexible hold blue bottle for a while and I have LOVED it. Loved that it wasn't too sticky on my hair, LOVED the scent AND the price. I used to get compliments on the smell all the time. NO compliments from this one. I'm actually embarrassed of the smell. SOOOO disappointed at the new formula. Absolutely awful. Now I'm rationing the last of a travel size of the original like it's liquid gold. Please chalk this one up to a bad idea gone worse. Bring back the original!! December 18, 2012
Bring the old back! Dries out my hair; YUCK! The blue bottle was better! May 31, 2012
Where is the real Dove flexible hold hairspray? I have been using Dove flexible hold spray for as long as can remember. When I saw the new and "improved" spray, I was a little nervous, but decided to try it anyway, because I was more nervous about having to find a new hairspray. The old spray was perfect. It smelled great, and it never made my hair sticky or damaged. The packaging was minimal and functional. I wish I could say the same for this new product, but there are just so many issues both with the new formula and the new packaging. 1.) The cap does NOT stay on at all. I put the bottle in my gym bag in a upright position, in a pocket where it could not move. The cap came off and sprayed half the bottled in my bag. Ruining the bag and over $100 in clothing. I tried to pack the hairspray again, this time in 3 airtight bags, in the same full length pocket, and again the cap came off and it sprayed half the bottled, at least that time the only thing lost was hairspray. 2.) The new product smells terrible. It is more like $2 aquanet than Dove. I used to always get compliments on the way my hair smelled, now I can hardly stand the smell of this product at all. 3.) The new product is sticky and stiff. Not flexible at all. It makes my hair stiff to the point of breaking. I am soooo upset that I need to look for a new hairspray but I refuse to waste any more money on this product. Dove please bring back the real Dove flexible hold hairspray!!!! Please!!! May 29, 2012
Do not like new scent of hairspray Why change something that was so good??? Hate the new scent of the hairspray!! It's horrible! Will never buy it again. Smells like baby powder. July 26, 2013
Hairspray fregrance Had been using the Unscented Dove FlexibleHold Hairspray until I ran out and used the regular one. Horrible. I can smell the hairspray all day. Need you to go back to or offer the unscented again. Will have to look for a different brand that sells unscented. October 13, 2013
Terrible new scent is a deal breaker Add me to the long list of customers who hate the new formula. The changes are a disaster, especially the strong, cloying scent. It smells like an old man's cheap aftershave. Very disappointed that I'm forced to change brands after years of relying on this product. March 7, 2013
Why did you change the formula? I have super thin hair and after trying several hair sprays, only one worked and it was Dove's flexible hold hair spray. I used to buy it three at a time, to make sure I wouldn't run out. I was SO disappointed that it's off the market and this style + care has replaced it. The sent is terrible and overwhelming. And the flexibility is not the same. I wouldn't even consider it a flexible spray. Sadly, I will have to start searching again for something light that works for me. This was a bad decision to change something that was already so good. May 24, 2012
Smells great, long lasting, frizz free hold After being a loyal Dove conditioner and Dove soap customer I decided to give this spray a try since the spray I used in the past was discontinued (another brand). I must say, I fell in love. This is definitely my new go-to whenever I need frizz-free all-day hold that smells fresh and clean. The smell is NOT overwhelming at all to me and I suffer from migraines. It is nice, fresh, and a little bit soft and powdery like all Dove products. The formula is not as "flexible" as it advertises but it gives you all-day hold which withstands the horrible NYC summer humidity. It rinses off fairly easily in the shower if you properly wash your hair. Hair might get a little bit dried out (as with most hairsprays) but Dove conditioner does an excellent job at replenishing any lost moisture. I highly recommend this to anyone with thicker, oily hair as it looks and feels very fresh, straight-out-of-the-shower, doesn't weigh hair down, and it lasts for as long as you are out and about. Will most certainly purchase this again and again! Thank you Dove for making yet another wonderful product!! July 16, 2012
Bring back the blue cap! It's not the same as the old formula. My wife complained about the smell of this new version. I've also noticed that it flakes much more easily and did not notice it all with the old blue cap formula. PLEASE bring back blue! Don't think I'll purchase any more of this pink cap version. If you do bring back the old stuff, please change the cap to the original color so I know it's safe to buy. December 8, 2012
New formula is terrible! I've used this for a couple years or so, used to LOVE it, it's all I used, then suddenly the scent changed drastically, it stinks now, AND it doesn't work as well, it's sticky and not as good, but the part that really bugs me is your quality control, I swear every can I buy has a different scent and still works crummy, I keep buying it hoping you'll switch back, but I'm losing hope and need to start searching for a new product :( VERY unhappy, I LOVED your original formula. June 5, 2013
Hate this new Dove. Why do big companies feel they need to change products. I hate the smell of the new Dove hairspray and for some reason my head itches when i use the new hairspray. Please bring back the old Dove. As of right now I am heading out to buy something other than your new and improved hairspray. I have been using Dove hairspray for as long as I can remember. Sorry I am switching. By the way, my husband does not like smelling like a woman. He too has been using the old hairspray. August 31, 2012
Not a statisfied customer I have dry, wavy hair and the original Dove Extra Hold was perfect for my style and for any weather. I loved the the natural movement and the fresh Dove fragrance it left in my hair. Now this new style+care product does not only produce a strong unwanted fragrance but poor style quality. If I spray too much, it leaves my hair unnaturally stiff and clumpy. If I reduce the amount of spray I apply, I lose the body of my curls. Overall, this is not a product that I recommend nor will I be buying again. April 16, 2012
Terrible! Bring back the regular Extra Hold hairspray I do not like this new style+care line. It stinks of berries or something very strong. I was a HUGE fan of the7.0 oz blue can Extra Hold hairspray when it came out. LOVED IT! PLEASE BRING IT BACK! This new stuff is terrible! Too crunchy and stinks. The other was soooo wonderful for my humid area, and all without any crunch. I have now started shopping other brands again because you do not make my favorite any longer. I will only buy your haircare products again if you bring the old formula back!! April 13, 2012
BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA!!! Does anyone in customer service read these comments???? And please, some travel sizes, if I have to keep this stuff !! Anyone heard of carry-on luggage??? July 10, 2013
I HATE IT!!! When I realized the hairspray was changed, I tried it. I hated it! The smell is terrible, and it makes my hair feel stiff. When I found the old formula in travel size bottles, I bought them whenever I saw them. Now I've run out of that option also. I cannot find a hairspray I like near as much as I did the old Dove formula. PLEASE BRING IT BACK!!!!! June 20, 2013
I Hate This New Formula I used to use the old Dove hairspray and loved it. Now they have changed the formula and it leaves a white coating all over my hair. Even after I wash it it won't come out! AND it dires it out terribly. Don't know why they changed this - but I will have to stop using it as it is ruining my hair. December 31, 2012
New Formula Stinks! I had been using Dove hairspray for years and thought that it worked great for my long, fine hair and was a good value for the money. I just started using the can I bought a couple weeks ago and it is horrible now! The smell is WAY TOO STRONG and reminds me of the scent of men's products. I don't want to smell like men's cologne or men's aftershave. I don't even think that I am going to be able to finish the can I have and I won't buy any more. August 13, 2012
I miss the older product! Compared the original, now discontinued , Dove Flexible hod Hairspray this stuff isn't very good. It is heavier and stickier. I am not impressed. I went to the extent of ordering the old stuff in bulk online after they stopped selling it in stores but now everywhere is out of stock. So sad. I really hate it when brands you like get discontinued. I will continue my search for the perfect hairspray. Bye Dove, we had a good run. September 5, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>

Find a retailer near you:

 
 

Dove Products are available at these Online Retailers

Click to see product sizes/quantities available