Style+Care Strength & Shine Extra Hold Hairspray

Style+Care Strength & Shine Extra Hold Hairspray

Product Recommender

Recommended Product

Get more product suggestions
from Dove.

Go

Product Description:

Better style comes through better care. That's why Dove has reinvented its styling collection to nourish and protect hair for a long-lasting, beautiful style. 

Dove Style+Care Strength & Shine Extra Hold Hairspray with Nutri-Style Complex provides a strong hold and enhances your hair's natural luminosity. Our non-aerosol formula nourishes to fight frizz and fly-aways while adding body and volume. Enjoy extra hold without all the stiffness for a beautiful style that lasts all day long.

Shop:

or

Top Comments and Reviews:

Make Your Ponytail Sleek and Shiny

Articles & Tips:

Ingredients:

SD Alcohol 40-B (Alcohol Denat.), Water (Aqua), Acrylates/Hydroxyesters Acrylates Copolymer, Aminomethyl Propanol, Fragrance (Parfum), Cyclopentasiloxane.

Top Comments and Reviews:

Style+Care™ Strength & Shine Extra Hold Hairspray 1.4 5 83 83
Bring back the old product... the old blue bottle of hairspray was much better, this is stiff when you spray you hair ones it dries. My hair feels stiff and clumpy ( like AquaNet from the 1980's) very disappionted because I loved the old product. Don't care for the scent much either. May 30, 2012
Please Bring Back the Blue One!!! I also hate this one, I have looked EVERYWHERE for the old formula and cannot find it... I loved the blue bottle.. why do they always get rid of things that are actually good??I would think by these reviews that dove would hear us, but it seems like they don't care. I'm so annoyed with trying new hairspray after new hairspray without finding one as good as the blue bottle!!! Like everyone has said... BRING THE ORIGINAL BACK!! This one is AWFUL May 18, 2012
Terrible Formula Change The new formula is such a downgrade. The old formula was PERFECT. It gave movable hold with no smell. This new formula is absolutely terrible and leaves my hair dry, sticky, and crunchy. Also, the smell is awful and stays on your hair all day. Needless to say, I have switched. Bad, bad move, Dove. Bring back your old formula. What you'd lose in production costs, you'll gain from all the lost revenue once women decide they hate this product. May 1, 2012
Could not stand the smell and feel of my own hair I have used dove hair spray for years. Loved it. Now I hate it will never buy again. The smell made me nauseated. Everyone around me said what is that smell. They said my hairspray made it hard to breath. I had to leave my doing early to go wash my hair. My hair felt horrible with it on gummy hard heavy could not even separate a strand without pulling out my hair. It looked sticky and fake. Talk about a hair helmet. Even if it was good the smell makes me sick. Bring back the original. Why change dove were people complaining. Well they are now I will buy no dove products from now on. October 14, 2012
Please bring back the Blue Bottle formula The new formula smells, leaves hair brittle, and does not seem to spray as fine a mist. November 17, 2013
This product makes my hair crunchy - please bring back old formula I will not buy this product again ever. It is inferior compared to the Dove blue bottle spray I have been using for years.The blue bottle had just the right amount of hold. I have been to numerous stores hoping to find one that would just happen to have some old stock and I have had no luck. Why did you change this formula? Why not keep the blue bottle and add this as another option? It is obvious from these comments that those using the blue bottle were using it because of the hold it provided - not the super starchy, crunchiness of the new product. I am disappointed and you have lost a loyal customer. June 4, 2012
terrible product I too, am very disappointed in this new spray. It is very sticky and makes my fine hair look very greasy when it is not! Bring back the blue formula! I am with everyone else! I have been a faithful user of Dove spray for years and will now have to find something else :( April 29, 2012
Hate the new hair spray This is the first time I have ever written a review on a product, and I dislike the new "improved" Dove pump spray so much that I felt compelled to speak out. I simply hate it. It smells awful and feels awful on my hair. I could barely get through the day without washing this stuff out. At first the smell was okay, but as the day went on, it got worse and worse, kinda like an aftertaste. I'm sorry, but I will not be buying ANY of your products until the old Dove pump spray comes back. I even drove around town looking for the old Dove spray to no avail. *sigh* June 28, 2012
I need the old stuff, PLEASE! Please, please, please, please bring back the old stuff in the blue bottle! It was the best ever. The only one that works for my thin, fine hair. This new stuff is way too stiff. Just plain awful. I cant use it. Won't waste my money. :( So sad. May 30, 2012
What happened to the other hairspray? Please bring back the previous formula and scent. This new spray makes my hair "crunchy" and has a strong scent. I will not purchase it again. I really liked the spray that was in the blue/gray bottle and I liked the scent. April 9, 2012
This new hairspray is horrible I used Dove Damage Therapy Extra Hold for years. Which I could manage my hair after I sprayed it and didn't leave my hair stiff. This new Dove hairspray makes my hair stiff and you can't manage the hair after you spray it. The hair spray dries in seconds. My hair feels so hard and stiff after it dries. This is horrible and the worst hairspray I have ever used. I'm heading out to the store today to find a different brand to replace the old Dove hairspray. Until you change the hairspray back to the old one I won't be buying your product. June 10, 2012
The new product is a down grade from the Damaged Hair Therapy Hairspray I, too, have been a loyal user of the Damaged Hair Therapy Hairspray and was very disappointed by this new product you have replaced it with-It's sticky, makes your hair feel like straw and has too strong a sent. (My husband even remarked about it when touching my hair! For a man to notice, THAT'S saying something!) The old 'blue bottle' had just the right amount of hold and managability for any style! Please reconsider bringing it back for your obvious fan base, here, that is voicing our displeasure! July 27, 2012
Bring back the 'old' dove hairspray! I have used the Dove pump hairspray in the blue bottle for a couple years now and LOVE it. I would actually have people ask what I used on my hair that smelled so good...clean and fresh. The new stuff, style + care, is all I could find recently at the store. It has a chemical smell, is too sticky and stiff. The old adage, "if it aint broke, don't fix it" certainly applies here! Please, bring back the dove hairspray in the blue bottle. October 4, 2012
Balls of sticky crud and straw-like effect For the LOVE OF GOD, Dove, please read these reviews and return the old product in the blue bottle. Dove Classic!!! That one sprayed on evenly, dried without feeling sticky or even like it was hair sprayed, and it smelled great. I don't wear any other product with a scent, and people often told me I always smelled good. It held my hair in place just long enough and I never felt a residue. It was touchable, a rare thing among hairsprays. This new one is awful, just awful. WHY WHY WHY??? June 8, 2012
What a disappointment! Dove ~ you had such a good thing going and you ruined it! I have used the blue bottle of Dove hairspray for years. It was the absolute best non aerosol product out there. The new "improved" product left my hair sticky, unmanageable and smelly. I will not use it again. I couldn't wait to get it off my hair. Finding a good hairspray should be easy given the wide selection but it isn't so I am pleading...PLEASE bring back the classic blue bottle Dove hairspray. July 6, 2012
GO BACK TO OLD VERSION!!!! PLEASE!!!! I LOVED this hairspray before they changed it. It WAS the best hairspray I had ever used. No build up - didn't dull or dry hair - actually it left hair feeling healthier and shinier after using it. DOVE - PLEASE change this back to the old formula. Listen to what your customers want. Why did you have to change something that was by far the best product on the market?!? I love other Dove products but this one is horrible. July 26, 2012
The new formula is HORRIBLE Like everyone else, I'm disappointed that the formula changed...I loved the old (blue bottle) formula. I will NEVER use the pink bottle new formula again. I purchased it thinking just the bottle would be different. What a shock to find it made my hair like glue and when I washed it it got slimmy. I luckily found a couple of bottles of the old blue bottle formula. But, it it doesn't come back on the market...will have to change brands. April 14, 2012
Please bring back old spray (natural movement) don't really care for this new one! Do not like the new product, please bring back blue labeled product with natural movement don't know why you changed it. Thank you. November 1, 2013
Go back to the old version!!!!! I agree with everyone else, the old version was so much better. I don't know why every company feels the need to take away every good unscented hairspray. This product just makes my hair so sticky, I am about to throw all of it down the drain. They had a deal at Target to buy two to get a gift card, what a mistake. I hate this stuff, hate it!!! August 3, 2012
Did not like it. I preferred Dove damage therapy hairspray (pump bottle). This one made my hair too stiff and I did not like the smell. I have tried several other brands and have not found one yet that works as well as the old one. Also the bottle was not very comfortable in my hand. Bring back the old one! August 14, 2012
Don't like the new version. I agree with the other reviewers. I do not like the new style Dove non-aerosol spray. The bottle is too large; I cannot direct the spray where I want it; it doesn't smell as nice and is way too sticky. I have been using this product for years but am afraid I will not buy the new product again. July 14, 2012
The new product is horrible! The new Dove non-aerosol is terrible. It is very sticky, stiff and makes your hair like straw. it is also too strong smelling. Please go back to the old version! It was perfect - held your hair but not stiff and sticky! If there are any old bottles still out there, please tell me where! July 11, 2012
This product STINKS why change something that worked. Bring back the former unscented flexible hold hairspray. This product is heavy and most of all it smells bad--makes my hair smell bad. I can't use it and my advice to others is DO NOT BUY THIS August 8, 2012
What a shame, may have to switch brands Very sticky, turns flakey. The damage therapy hairspray was just right, why not just leave it alone? This was a regular staple for me that I would constantly buy. Not anymore. Sadly, I will have to look for another brand if this is all Dove has to offer. April 25, 2012
This stuff is like glue! I too want the old "with natural movement" hair spray back! This new spray is like glue and my hair won't move. It makes it look fake. I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one who doesn't like it. I wish Dove had kept the old one while they tested out the new. April 11, 2012
Bring back the old one. PLEASEEEEEE BRING BACK THE OLD BLUE BOTTLES! That hairspray was my absolute favorite I can not find it anywhere!? ... This new spray makes my hair knotty and frizzy? Its really terrible. I NEED the old one back. May 26, 2012
Inferior to the original formula. I have been using the original blue bottle formula for years. I do not like the way the new formula makes my hair feel. PLEASE bring back the original! July 30, 2012
WHY change a good thing?? I am SO not happy with the change! I tried the new formula and have tried many others since, but am NOT happy. I want my original BLUE back....PLEASE! June 26, 2012
Not thrilled with the new formula. The smell is too strong. It feels like straw when first applied, which does not allow for easy styling before complete drying. June 19, 2012
This product is not as good as the original hairspray. Hairspray is thicker and very sticky. Hair is not flexible and goes flat at the end of the day. April 27, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 next>>

Find a retailer near you:

 
 

Dove Products are available at these Online Retailers

Click to see product sizes/quantities available