Style+Care™ Strength & Shine Extra Hold Hairspray

Style+Care™ Strength & Shine Extra Hold Hairspray

Product Recommender

Recommended Product

Get more product suggestions
from Dove.

Go

Product Description:

Better style comes through better care. That's why Dove® has reinvented its styling collection to nourish and protect hair for a long-lasting, beautiful style. 

Dove® Style+Care™ Strength & Shine Extra Hold Hairspray with Nutri-Style Complex helps to set your hairstyle with a strong hold and enhances your hair's natural luminosity. Its fast-drying, water-free formula nourishes to fight frizz and fly-aways, while adding body and volume. Enjoy extra hold without all the stiffness for a beautiful style that lasts all day long.

Shop:

or

Top Comments and Reviews:

Stay on Trend with a Simple Messy Braid

Articles & Tips:

Ingredients:

SD Alcohol 40-B (Alcohol Denat.), Hydroflfluorocarbon 152a,Acrylates/Hydroxyesters Acrylates Copolymer, Fragrance (Parfum), Aminomethyl Propanol, PEG/PPG-20/15 Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane.

Top Comments and Reviews:

Style+Care™ Strength & Shine Extra Hold Hairspray 1.6 5 116 116
definitely not an improvement I loved the former Dove hairspray in the blue can. It had been my favorite for years. This new one is inferior in every way. The feel is too heavy and I don't like the scent. Would love to have the option to buy the other. I'll have to look for something else. October 22, 2012
The smell is terrible I've used this hairspray for a few years now, however I have noticed that the small has changed recently and I can no longer use it. The smell is so stong that it gives me headaches and bothers my allergies. I'm not happy about having to change brands, i used to love this product. September 9, 2012
I am so disappointed in this new formula. I have been using Dove hairspray for YEARS and I have loved it. It had a very light fragrance and never left my hair sticky or stiff. Recently when I went to replenish my supply, I could only find this new version with gray and pink writing on it. I thought it was the same but just different packaging; however, it is totally different. I HATE the smell; it is so strong and overpowering, it gives me a headache. And I hate how stiff it leaves my hair. It is a totally different formula. The can I always used had blue and grey print. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE bring back the old version, or tell me where I can still buy it. February 16, 2013
Bad The smell is horrible plus I got white flaked from the hair spray after a couple hours. Made my hair look to crispy not buying again :( loved the old one November 18, 2012
Terrible smell I used to buy Dove hair spray all the time and used it daily. Tried this new one and the smell is terrible. I will never buy it again. November 20, 2012
Horrible New Fragrance New scent is horrible! I bought a new can, which was in the same color/size/strength as my last can and the smell of the new one is like cheap men's cologne. Please go back to the previous fragrance. It was pleasant and I loved it for my hair. September 3, 2012
How can you be satisfied with this after using the original ?! Reading these other reviews is so depressing! I LOOOOOOVED the old Dove Extra hold hairspray. It naturally smelled AMAZING! The hair spray was so light and locked in my style amazingly while still letting my hair look dry and nearly product free. WHY DID YOU CHANGE THIS DOVE?? WHY?? Put it back PLEEEEASE! April 18, 2012
Horrible smell Smells like old cologne and I won't buy it anymore November 27, 2012
I hate this new product This new stuff smells horrible and is sticky in your hair. I have to buy a bunch of the old style travel size online in order to get it. September 25, 2013
Bring back the blue can I've used dove hairspray in the blue can for a few years. This new stuff is just awful. I have switched to a different brand. Will not be buying any dove hair care products until the blue can returns. August 25, 2012
Not A Fan!! Please listen to the people on this one.....we (the actual consumers) who have used your products for YEARS, do not like the new product. Please oh PLEASE bring back the BLUE!!! June 26, 2012
Not the same hairspray Loved the previous extra hold hairspray! This stuff is sticky and not movable. Takes me forever to brush it out of my hair. Yes, it has good hold but gives me a helmet head look. Not natural at all. April 14, 2012
My new go to hairspray Love this hairspray! everything it says on the label, it does, I DON'T get helmet head AT ALL which is why I'm loving this product, the smell is like a very light, clean shampoo smell and it holds all day and looks natural, it's not wet, weighed down, sticky or crunchy like other brands I've tried, just soft and natural. I like how it sprays out of the can - comes out strong but sprays a very fine, super fast drying mist, also it seems to give my hair luminosity (like the can says). I've never had a hairspray hold this well and look so natural and be brushable without snags and breakage. I'm really excited and happy I bought this product so much I just had to come on here and say so. April 20, 2012
Bring back the formula in the blue can! I loved the Dove hairspray in the whie and blue can. The smell was great and the hold was just right. This new formula is horrible! Not only is the scent bad, but it leaves white sticky stuff in our hair! This is very obvious on my daughter's dark colored hair. This new formula is also very hard to wash out. Please bring back the formula in the blue can!!! It was perfect. Why change a good thing? April 16, 2013
So Disappointed! I have used Dove hair spray (strong and extra strong) for a few years. I loved the way it "held" my hair without being sticky. I was thoroughly satisfied. Two weeks ago I bought a new can of Dove Extra Strong hair spray on my vacation. It has a VERY strong scent! I was very disappointed that such a strong scent was added without any labeling as such. When I returned home I compared both cans. There is no way to know that the scent has changed. The cans are identical. If you are sensitive to scents this is definitely NOT the spray for you! I will NOT be buying Dove hairspray agaIn. So disappointed! December 28, 2012
WORST EVER! They weren't kidding when they call it EXTRA HOLD! I enjoyed the blue can thinking that I will like this can as well but I found it being the WORST. Not only does it stink in smell but it left little dots of hairspray in my hair that I can't for the life of me take it out. It is so embrassing that it looks like headlice in which I never had in my life... It has been over a week and still I am struggling to get it out of my hair because it is extra hold. Now they need to make a product to take this hairspray out of my hair. I would highly NOT RECOMMEND this product to anyone unless you like products left in your hair for a longtime. July 31, 2012
Overpowering scent I have used Dove hairspray products for years and have always found it to be a reliable product. A few months ago all the Dove hairspray products disappeared from my local stores shelves. This new product recently arrived and I was excited to use it. It perfoms well and I like the fast drying aspect. One BIG problem with the product is the overpowering scent. It is so strong that it fights with the light perfumes that I occasionally wear. The scent does not seem to disapate and overall the product would do well if it werre cut back. Note: I have not yet seen an unscented version in my stores. September 12, 2012
New scent makes it even worse! I love, love, love Dove products! Have been a customer for years of all sorts of Lever products. Tried to get on board with this new hairspray....sorta adjusted to the pink can strong. At first it was o.k. because the scent was like the old hairspray in the blue can. Just bought 2 new cans of the same pink can I had been trying to adjust to and it now has a scent like men's deodorant to me. Can't get on board with that. Sorry Dove, I love you but I'm changing hairspray to something unscented. What has happened to unscented hairsprays anyway? Unscented is supposed to mean unscented right??? August 15, 2012
HORRIBLE! I have been using the "Blue" bottle Dove for several years. I was so so excited to have an inexpensive hairspray that didn't make my hair stiff and smelled great. I was disappointed when I couldn't find it any longer, and figured the pink bottle was just new packaging. Boy was I wrong! This hairspray is AWFUL! The smell is horrendous and overpowers any type of perfume that you might have on, my hair is sticky and stiff. AWFUL!!!! I had to switch back to the expensive salon hairspray. Please, please, please bring back the Blue bottles!!! September 24, 2012
Why different smells? About a month ago my sister in law had this same hair spray, same can and it smelled amazing! I went out and bought it yesterday and mine smelled like mens cologne or worse!! So I took it back smelled the other hairspray (flexible hold) and it too smelled like mens cologne. So I ended up buying the non arasol hair spray which smelled like the rest of the line. Dove has great products and most of them all smell the same, so why do the hairsprays smell way different and like mens cologne??? August 21, 2012
I miss the old product I used to love Dove hairspray in the blue/silver can. This pink/white can product is horrible. In the past year, I've bought probably five cans, and each of them had to be thrown out after almost half the can was used. The tube inside the sprayer kept plugging, and there was no way to unplug it. What a waste. No longer buying any Dove hairspray product. December 30, 2012
This product works well, smells awful! I love Dove products, always have. When I went looking for a new hairspray, this particular one was on sale so I figured I'd try it out! Although I love the way Dove hairspray somehow manages to not make my hair sticky while still holding in curl, the odor is absolutely repulsive. Neither my husband nor myself can even stand the product because of how awful the smell is. Even though I love how well it works, I will not be repurchasing. October 15, 2012
Change It Back Please! I was also very sad when I bought my 2nd bottle of this new hairspray and found that after my first use I smelled like I was wearing cheap mens cologne/baby powder :( I thought maybe I bought an expired bottle so I called my mom who also loved it and she said she just bought a new bottle 2 days ago and found the same thing. I was excited when I found this product, but sadly will not use it moving forward unless you bring back the previous wonderful scent! Please bring it back!! July 29, 2012
Horrible new scent I have been a dove user for years and was disappointed when the unscented hair spray was discontinued. I have extremely sensitive skin and I am highly disappointed with the new scented hair spray. I had used a few cans of the new spray and they were fine but recently the scent was changed and it just plain stinks, now I have two unusable cans in my possession, $8.00 later. Dove come back to the sensitive skin users, we depend on your products. September 19, 2012
Dove Damage Therapy Flexible Hold Discontinued I don't know why Dove Damage Therapy Flexible Hold discontinued. I preferred it since it did not leave as much of a residue on your hair. Dove Style+Care holds but it leaves a lot of residue on hair that is hard to brush out. I think it would be better for consumers to have a choice as to which they would prefer. I suggest you put Dove Damage Therapy back in the market. Otherwise, I might have to look for another product. Or come up with a similar item. Thank you. August 3, 2012
bring back the blue I have been searhing for the blue can all over to find a new and better spray.. LOL it's horrable to heavy i have used the blue can for years and loved it worked great, smelted great, and cost was great. Sooo sad i now have to use a different product because YOU DOVE decided it would be better to change the product,ever heard of IF IT AINT BROKE DONT. just saying sorry that i now will be using another product wont even use the soap anymore.. August 8, 2012
smells bad I tried this "new" hair spray when it came as a free sample with dove soap, was very pleased with the sample, i loved the smell and the hold it took on my hair. HOWEVER, when I went and bought the actual normal size I was very disappointed in the smell like everyone else! It smells like mens cologne and my family even asked what was wrong with my hair. I guess i will have to go back and spend $10 on salon spray. September 20, 2012
New scent isn't good. I have been buying Dove hairspray for a long time and love it. I have been using this specific brand for a while now. The last time I bought it the scent had changed. I used it once and could not stand the new smell. It smells like the powder aerosol spray deodorant. It's too bad because the hairspray works great. Unfortunately I had to buy another brand of hairspray. Hopefully they'll change the scent back to the way it was. August 18, 2012
works great but smells awful I loved the blue can version, but this pink can, I cannot buy another. The smell is awful. Every time I move my head I can smell it. It smells like old perfume. My hair stays in place and it is not crispy feeling, but I just can't get past the smell.:-( December 16, 2012
Can't stand the smell I use to use dove all the time but the smell of this is so bad that i threw out 3 bottles, it doesnt hold, it's awful, dove bring back our old hair spray, I'll never buy this product again... January 8, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>

Find a retailer near you:

 
 

Dove Products are available at these Online Retailers

Click to see product sizes/quantities available